top of page
  • Writer's picturetm

Realizing the Importance of EXERCISE...


Is this my goal?? Hahaha NOOOOOOO! But I do need to change things up here, my age seems to be weighing in quite heavily now. Things hurt that never used to, I am now seeing a chiropractor, tired all the time and even 1 alcoholic beverage gives me a hangover. Changes are definitely needed.

On top of all this - as a hairstylist, we are on our feet all day - which is fine, we wear good shoes, drink lots of water, use anti-fatigue mats in the work place and its usually no issue. However, in my calculations - I have overlooked the fact that I have stopped exercising regularly. My feet, back and neck are all sore by the end of my work day. My missing piece is the exercise. I have now decided to begin a proper regimen, beginning with a quick 5 min routine to start my day right after getting my lazy behind out of bed. This is very new to me so I am not quite sure how well I will do, but I plan to try my best and really attempt to change my lifestyle - in a manageable way. I began reading up on how to lose 10 lbs and came across John Fawkes website, which I found very informative - here's his 5 minute morning workout https://johnfawkes.com/why-you-should-work-out-as-soon-as-you-get-out-of-bed/. Take a quick read of his explanations, made sense and gave the explanations I needed.

I like doing yoga, which is great, but its not really enough for me. Yoga is great for mindfulness, but I feel I need to incorporate some heavier strength and cardio training in between the yoga. Create a balanced system.

I am trying to eat cleaner, drink more water each day, change my eating patterns slightly - now I am certainly no dieter...I love my treats! Chocolate and chips are a vice unfortunately. But I am limiting my treats, trying intermittent fasting, ensuring adequate sleep, with the added exercise, I should begin to feel better fairly quickly.

We do have a dog - she's a rescue, new to our home as of December 8, 2019 - so been with us just over a month. Walking her multiple times daily has been helpful. Given me a nice kick in the butt to get rolling on these changes. I also hit that horrifying number on the scale - you know we all have one. That number is my point of no return, if I have hit that point, I must change things immediately, so here we are. This is my plan and I will keep you updated as things progress for me!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Be Your Naturally Beautiful Self

Recently, I was reading the new edition of the Canadian Hairdresser magazine which is titled "The Green Issue". In it, was a very interesting article, about being beautiful - naturally, and rather th

bottom of page