top of page
  • Writer's picturetm

For your own sanity - let things go!


Its definitely been a week. Nothing tragic, just mentally complicated. As Gord Downie says, "Like the sea, I am constantly changing from calm to ill" (Song, Sleeping Sickness by Dallas Green ft. Gord Downie). It is such a visual phrase that I very easily relate to. Partly because of the world and the people in it, but mostly because of my inability to let things go. This concept is tricky, but it is becoming more prevalent that I must learn to let things go for my own mental health. There are most definitely people in our world who only seek to hurt us. They are narcissists, psychopaths, sociopaths, horrible humans - whatever makes you feel better thinking - in the end, they have done something you don't agree with BUT

WE ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMIES!

I think it's in the processing. These types of people only affect us because we allow it. They lose their power when you stop allowing those people to bother you. Its so easy to blame others for how we feel, and it can be partly their fault, but we need to be accountable for how we process the nonsense.

I have been on a kind of self awareness kick, and this is a lesson that I am finding particularly difficult. I hate drama. But when its in my life, I also can't seem to let it go. It eats away at me, and then I become the sucker that allowed drama to affect me. A friend of mine told me that I need to kick the energy vampires out of my life, and out of my head. And she is 100% correct. They suck up my good energy, but only because I allow it, which makes them stronger. SO... how do we fix this. And why on earth do we do this to ourselves? I truly don't know yet.

I suppose we can start by cutting the energy vamps out of our lives. Then - mindfulness? meditation? yoga? I am starting to think it is so difficult because it is a life long learning process. Perhaps we can learn more from those grandparents who always say exactly what they think whenever they want - good or bad. They have a lifetime of wisdom to share.

Is it part of self confidence? Is it even a learned behaviour? I certainly hope it is. How do we decide what should affect us and what should not? I have been hearing more about energy healing practices like Reiki. Some people think its nonsense, but if we feel it helps us, then wouldn't it actually help us because we feel relief? And is mental relief based on perspective? I am going to really try this Reiki Energy Healing. I have to try something. The yoga is helping, my new exercise regime is also helping but I need more. As far as I can tell, it can't hurt me, and I am willing to spend the money on it to try it out. A friend of mine is Reiki certified, and if I like it, I think we may start offering it at the salon.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Be Your Naturally Beautiful Self

Recently, I was reading the new edition of the Canadian Hairdresser magazine which is titled "The Green Issue". In it, was a very interesting article, about being beautiful - naturally, and rather th

bottom of page