top of page
  • Writer's picturetm

Buy Local, Source Local


I try very hard to ensure I am sourcing local where possible. I do not claim to be some kind of superhero business owner, just that I try my best. It is important to me to support our own businesses - for me local is Canada. I strive to have Canadian product in my salon, and if it can't be made local, at least try finding Canadian companies to deal with. But, man, it's difficult! My bank is Canadian, my point of sale system was Canadian - but I have to switch because their rates are double the other companies, and I have tried to negotiate and they can't/won't/don't. So unfortunately, I must change that...but they are a trusted partner of my Canadian business group if that gains me any credit back. My suppliers are Canadian companies, however the products are not usually Canadian. I did, however, begin carrying a new Canadian hair care line which I am super excited about. The company was put together in Canada by Canadians, and they are also producing in Canada! Yay!

The company is called Design Me and I urge you to check them out, they make some pretty awesome products for hair - cleansing and styling products only so far. They are innovative, and strive to provide quality product at reasonable prices - and I am so far, very impressed. It will definitely be a steady line in my shop. Gels, dry shampoo, hair sprays, serums and more! They are also environmentally conscious, PETA certified, human and earth friendly with their production, containers, and ingredients. I am loving these guys more and more, and looking forward to working more closely with them.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Be Your Naturally Beautiful Self

Recently, I was reading the new edition of the Canadian Hairdresser magazine which is titled "The Green Issue". In it, was a very interesting article, about being beautiful - naturally, and rather th

bottom of page