top of page
  • Writer's picturetm

Pinterest Fail...



Trish here again...this week i have decided to discuss Pinterest! We all know and love Pinterest for various reasons. Me as well, I'm always scoping it out for ideas. I have many clients showing me pins they found and love for their hair. I love having a visual to go along with their ideas so we can be on the same page with their desired hair goals. My discussion today is simply around the concept of being realistic when viewing these pics. Some are easier than others to be realistic about, some look so good in the photo but only look tht way for a few moments, until the wind blows, or you turn your head, or run your hands thru your hair. It is part of my job to discuss these concepts with you. But even i dont always realize the extent of it. For example, these super exaggerated "lobs", with short backs but length in the front down to your bra. Yes they are so adorable, but i have cut peoples hair like tht, and there are some issues. We dont always see these issues right away with some cuts. Like when you run your hands thru your hair and the long pieces in front get tossed to the back and give you random strays halfway down your back while the base of the back is cut to your hairline. If you dont envision wearing your hair the exact same way every single day, then perhaps some other ideas should be on the table. When you see some of these pics, try to think about your usual habits with your hair, how often you wash it, if you like it curly or straight, its natural form, etc. If its a straight cut and you have natural curl, how will it look curly? Or will you need to straighten it regularly? I am not at all saying you can't have these looks, or that I don't want to see your pics...I truly do, but photos are usually photoshopped and just a one second peek.

My suggestion (and what I try to do with my clients) is to envision the reality of those looks with your daily routines. Keep an open mind when you take these ideas to your stylist. I have had to adjust a few cuts a week or so later bc my clients just couldn't get used it. And that is totally fine! I have no issues with that, we tried it at least. Simply have the open discussion about possibilities, and be prepared if your stylist doesn't think you will like it. Stylists get to know you, the client, very well and if this is the case for you, tht is a good thing! If your stylist doesnt know you well, discuss your daily routines and lifestyle with them so they can help you determine whether or not it will work for you. I love Pinterest for ideas, but ultimately they are only ideas and not always practical for our everyday lives. Just think about your routines and if that look would be a good fit for you. Dont be shy to chat with your stylist about your ideas!! And dont be shy to call back if you tried and determined it a pinterest fail. If you are one of my clients, i am happy to fix it up so you can work with it!



3 views0 comments
bottom of page